Green Cabbage Salad with Goat Cheese & Apples

I’m always surprised by how much I enjoy cabbage. I remember when I was a kid, I had a Sesame Street book that was meant to be read along with an interactive tape player. One one page of the book, Snuffleupagus would tell you that cabbage was his favorite food, and then he would ask if YOU liked cabbage.

I would press no.

And then Snuffleupagus would make a very sad noise, and say something like “Oh, well… more for me, I suppose.”

Eventually, I started to press Yes I like cabbage just so I would hear happy Snuffleupagus.

To this day, I still think that I don’t really like cabbage. Then I eat it and remember that I think cabbage is pretty good. Somewhere, a muppet is happy.

Cabbage salad with Goat Cheese and Apples

1 head of cabbage
1 medium apple, a crispy tart or sweet-tart variety works well
3 or 4 slices of fresh goat cheese (or gruyere), about 3-5 oz
handful of walnuts or almonds (optional)
Home made croutons
Vinaigrette dressing

Cut cabbage in medium dice, and put in a salad bowl. Cut apples and cheese into small dice and add to the bowl. If using croutons, make by slicing old bread and toasting in a heavy-bottom skillet with some olive oil and a sprinkle of salt. Add croutons and nuts to the salad. To make a vinaigrette, whisk together approximately equal parts of balsamic vinegar, dijon mustard, and olive oil (maybe a little extra oil if the flavors are too strong). Mix salad with dressing and enjoy!

cabbage salad

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Green Cabbage Salad with Goat Cheese & Apples

  1. Pingback: What’s good about today? « nerds in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

