Rose Pancakes for Mom

Happy Mother’s Day!

Do all kids make breakfast for their moms on Mother’s Day? I think they should. Every year, I served my mom scrambled eggs, since that was the only dish I knew how to make. Also, every year my dad and I would go to the florist to buy her a bouquet and (for some reason) a mug that would say something like “World’s Best Mom” or “Love you, Mother” I believe my mom has since “lost” many of these gifts (I would have, too), but if you search her cupboards, you can still find a number of ceramic cups extolling her virtues as a parent, not that they’re wrong.

Mom, you are probably the most generous, and at the same time strongest, people I know; I think this is a rare combination of virtues. I admire that you live out these virtues through your actions, as you are not one for hyperbole (understatement of the year!). Among the many gifts you’ve given me is my love of the beach, and a fair dose of bravery in the cold Pacific Ocean. I remember swimming out beyond the surf zone with you, feeling at once terrified by our distance from the shore, and reassured by your huge smile and joy of treading a little puddle worth of the largest body of water in the world. I wish we lived in the same town so I could make you a nice breakfast.

If you live in the same town as your mom, you might try making pancakes. I though about making crepes, which are also lovely. But I was tempted to make pancakes that resembled flowers, so we gave it a go. Gilles was quite a sport, and is a remarkably good flower-pancake-maker! Some of these pancakes are to you from your son, Camille!

We used Mark Bitmann’s “Every Day Pancake” recipe, adding about a quarter cup of oatmeal for a little health boost. Moms like health boosts, right? To make the roses, such as they are, we found it was best to use a small spoon to create one petal at a time in the pan, letting each new shape cook for half a minute or so before forming the next, that way the petals could keep their individual shapes without blending together too much. The side of the pancake that is pan-side down when you begin will look better than the side facing you, so do not freak out and give up on your first attempt or two – once you flip the pancakes, you’ll see that they’re coming together more than you expected. Be sure to serve with coffee – Moms like that!

Every Day Pancakes, plus oatmeal
from Mark Bitmann’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian

2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 2/3 cup milk
2 tbs butter, melted
1/4 cup oatmeal (optional)

Mix dry ingredients together in a bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the wet ingredients, making sure the butter has cooled a bit after you’ve melted it. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry, mixing as you go. Cook on a nice skillet over medium to low heat. Reserved cooked pancakes in a warm oven until you’re ready to serve.

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Rose Pancakes for Mom

  1. So cute! Both the adorable rose pancakes and the sweet sentiments about your mom. I love that photo at the beach!

Leave a Reply

